2015 IFEES President’s Award Recipients Announced

IFEES President Award RecipientsOn July 17, 2015, IFEES President, Uriel Cukierman, chose two recipients for the 2015 IFEES President’s Award: Ramakrishna Seeram and Satish Udpa. The two winners will be presented their awards at the IFEES Awards Dinner during WEEF 2015 in Florence, Italy on September 22nd. Quanser Consulting and Siemens are generously sponsoring the 2015 IFEES Presidential Awards.

Dr. Seeram is the Director of the Center for Nanofibers and Nanotechnology at the National University of Singapore. The 2015 IFEES President’s Award for Global Visionary recognizes Dr. Seeram’s long career in engineering education and his strong reputation and credibility as a global leader. Ramakrishna Seeram served as the IFEES Vice-President in 2008 and played an instrumental role in the founding of the Global Engineering Deans Council (GEDC).

Dr. Udpa serves as the Executive Vice President for Administrative Services at Michigan State University in the United States. As the recipient of the 2015 IFEES President’s Award for Pioneering Regional Leader, Dr. Udpa is being recognized for his contributions to engineering education in his region. Satish Udpa also is one of the founding members of the GEDC.

Established in 2012, then IFEES President Krishna Vedula sought to honor individuals who made significant contributions to the global engineering education community. Past recipients include Yu Shouwen (2012 Pioneering Regional Leader), Claudio Borri (2012 Global Visionary), Eduardo Silva Sanchez (2013 Pioneering Regional Leader), Lueny Morell (2013 Global Visionary), Yury Pokholkov (2014 Pioneering Regional Leader) and Krishna Vedula (2014 Global Visionary). Full details of the IFEES President’s Award, including biographies for current and past award recipients can be found here.

2015 IFEES Presidential Award Sponsors: